Whitehorse Celebrates Family And Togetherness With New Holiday Album “A Whitehorse Winter Classic”

via Six Shooter Records:

“This time of year, just a mix of emotions,” begins A Whitehorse Winter Classic: a collection of new, original seasonal songs that explore the ups and downs of the holidays. From the joy and beauty of family and togetherness to loneliness and melancholy, the JUNO Award-winning duo Whitehorse celebrates the festive season in timeless, if bittersweet, fashion.

From the shimmer and twinkle of “December’s Children”, which captures the wonder and magic of Christmas Eve, to the airport-weary holiday travelogue of “Ho Ho Ho”, A Whitehorse Winter Classic reflects on the family ties that knit us close even over great distances.

Melissa McClelland’s celestial vocals soar on gorgeous ballads “Snowballs and Snow Angels” and “Two Snowbirds”—tracks that will appeal to fans of k.d. lang’s signature velvety ache. Guitar slinger Luke Doucet’s affectionate resignation steers “Merry Christmas Baby” and final track “Cheers To Another New Year”—a fitting soundtrack to close out 2018.

Written in winter 2018, A Whitehorse Winter Classic was produced by Doucet, complete with children’s choir, string arrangements and two covers: a twangy take on crooning, swooning country staple “Blue Christmas” and The Pretenders’ indie classic “2000 Miles”. From start to finish A Whitehorse Winter Classic is a fresh, graceful, nuanced exploration of nostalgia and togetherness—a reminder of the things worth celebrating.


1. Merry XMas, Baby (I Hope You Get What You Deserve)
2. December’s Children
3. Snowballs and Snow Angels
4. Ho Ho Ho
5. 2000 Miles
6. Two Snowbirds
7. Blue Christmas
8. Merry Christmas, Baby
9. Cheers to Another New Year

Like this post? Leave your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.