One Bad Son-Made In The Name Of Rock N Roll-Album Review

By: Nerhys Hall

A mix of gritty, rowdy rock anthems like the title track and slower, emotional ballads such as “Streets Are Red”, this prairie band has listeners yearning for the days of hairspray and acid wash jeans. After listening to the latest album from One Bad Son, Made In The Name Of Rock N Roll, it should come as no surprise that the Saskatoon, Saskatchewan band has shared the stage with musical legends such as Def Leppard, Judas Priest, and Monster Truck. Their sound brings to mind eighties hard rock and heavy metal with aggressive, driving bass and drum lines, flashy guitar solos, and raspy vocals.

One slight exception stands out amidst the brash, swaggering rock tracks: “The Promise”. The prairie quartet shows their western Canada roots by adding a country flair to the powerful ballad. However, that doesn’t mean they go full country twang, “The Promise” still features passionate rock guitar hooks and raspy vocals that reminisce of Axl Rose. The song still fits within the scope of the album and does not sound out of place.

This album would be the perfect accompaniment to driving around in a muscle car with the stereo cranked up to 11 and the windows rolled down.

Made In The Name of Rock N Roll – Track Listing
Side A:
1. Made In The Name of Rock N Roll
2. Raging Bull
3. Hurricane
4. The Promise
5. Like A Weapon

Side B:
1. Rise Up
2. Scream For Me
3. True Romance
4. Streets Are Red
5. Flying High

Like this post? Leave your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.