Renowned Canadian Vocalist Florence K To Release Latin Album Estrellas Featuring Alex Cuba

After her foray into the jazz realm with Quiet Nights and the release of her live album Buena Vida en concert, renowned Quebec vocalist, two-time Félix Award winner and JUNO Award-nominee, Florence K, is set to release her new album Estrellas (Florence K Music) on June 1, 2018 via Select Distribution in Canada and all digital retailers internationally. Partnering with four-time Latin GRAMMY Award-winning sensation, singer-songwriter and producer Alex CubaEstrellas sees Florence K return to her first love, Cuban and Latin rhythms.

“My love of Cuban music first started in my teens and to be able to write, work and record with such an amazing and talented musician as Alex Cuba, has been one of my dreams for a long time. Estrellas, which means “Stars” was recorded within four days of intense creativity and musical exchange,” said Florence K. “My album is filled of magical moments and I am thrilled to share those rhythms, melodies, smiles and laughs with you.”


On Estrellas Florence K found influence from Cuban collaborators, including arranger Luis Papo Marquez and music programmer Ricardo Del Llano. Singing in both French and Spanish while instilling her own authenticity, the result is a contemporary sound that leverages Alex Cuba’s international inspiration. Featuring nine original songs, including the recently released first single “Estrellas”, the album harmoniously combines salsa, reggaeton and bachata with the sounds of guitar, requinto, tres, bongos, congas and Florence K’s signature piano. Estrellas is also the inaugural album of Florence K’s own label, Florence K Music, which will also see releases by Florence’s sister Leo and mother Natalie Choquette.

Since the release of her debut album Live at Lion D’Or in 2005, Florence K has continually earned accolades for her wide-ranging musical approach. Two of her albums, Bossa Blue (2006) and La Historia De Lola (2008) won Félix Awards for ‘World Music Album of the Year’, while her first Christmas opus Havana Angels — recorded in Cuba — was a huge smash in 2010. In 2013, she returned with I’m Leaving You, made in Los Angeles with legendary producer/bassist Larry Klein. The album garnered Florence her first JUNO nomination for ‘Breakthrough Artist of the Year’, as well as an ADISQ award nomination for ‘Best Anglophone Album of the Year.’ She followed up that success in 2016 with Quiet Nights, in collaboration with beloved Canadian crooner Matt Dusk, which earned another JUNO nomination for ‘Vocal Jazz Album of the Year’.

Florence Press Photo 1

Estrellas Track Listing:

1. Estrellas
2. Seguiré
3. Morena
4. Sin tu amor ( feat. Alex Cuba)
5. A tu cuerpo
6. Te busco
7. Des étoiles
8. Je rentre à la maison
9. Morena (Français)

Like this post? Leave your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.