Canadian Songwriters Hall Of Fame Honours Beau Dommage, Bruce Cockburn, Neil Young & Stéphane Venne

PhotosTom Sandler Photography

On September 23, the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) inducted four incredible Canadian songwriters Beau DommageBruce CockburnNeil Young and Stéphane Venne at Massey Hall in Toronto. As composers, storytellers and visionaries these remarkable artists were honoured for the permanent mark they have left on music both in Canada and around the world.

The bilingual ceremony presented by Richardson GMP, featured extraordinary tributes and live performances from sought after Canadian artists and personalities including, ArkellsBlackie and the Rodeo KingsBuffy Sainte-MarieDamien RobitailleDaniel LavoieDon RossEh440Élage DioufElisapieFrance D’Amour, Florence KHawksley WorkmanJessica MitchellJulie Payettek.d. langLisa LeBlancRandy BachmanRuth B., Tom PowerWilliam PrinceWhitehorse and Yann Perreau.

With electrifying performances and emotional tributes the evening began with Hawksley Workman‘s rendition of Bruce Cockburn‘s “Silver Wheels” and Blackie and the Rodeo Kings’ stirring performance of “If I Had a Rocket Launcher”. Following a performance of “Up Where We Belong” by eh440Buffy-Sainte Marie inducted Bruce Cockburn with a poignant tribute. Don Ross was joined by Damien Robitaille for a performance of Beau Dommage‘s “Les blues d’la la Métropole”, before the band was inducted by Governor General-designate Julie Payette.

Florence K and France D’Amour paid tribute to Stéphane Venne with “Un jour, un jour”, while songwriter Daniel Lavoie honoured Venne with his induction. Paying tribute to Neil YoungWhitehorse hit the stage for blistering performances of “Ohio” and “Old Man”, while Ruth B. provided a stunning cover of  “Heart of Gold”. k.d. lang then thrilled the crowd to a standing ovation with her powerful and emotional rendition of “Helpless”. After inducting Neil YoungRandy Bachman was joined by surprise guest Rush‘s Alex Lifeson and Arkells for “Cinnamon Girl”, followed by the show-stopping finale of “Rockin’ in the Free World” featuring all of the night’s performers.

The 2017 Induction Ceremony also marked the first year of The Slaight Music Emerging Songwriter Award. Sponsored by Slaight Music, the Award honours one Anglophone and one Francophone songwriter who are on an upward trajectory in their career. This year, Jessie Reyez (Anglophone) and Charlotte Cardin (Francophone) were announced at the ceremony as the winners of this year’s Awards.

The Induction Ceremony was livestreamed at and on CBC Music’s Facebook and YouTube pages. CBC also will broadcast portions of the show on CBC Radio One, CBC Radio 2’s Canada Live and CBC Music’s FIRST PLAY LIVE on CBC TV. Highlights from this year’s Induction Ceremony will also be uploaded to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame YouTube channel.

Scroll Through Photos Below:


Like this post? Leave your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.